Listen & Download

Over the weekend of September 23, the White House announced it is extending and expanding the travel moratorium, which was set to expire, to eight countries. Three nations - Chad, North Korea and Venezuela - were added, while Sudan was taken off the list. The restrictions imposed vary from one country to the next. The White House has indicated that the current iteration of the travel moratorium is not intended to be permanent. Meanwhile, litigation continues on a variety of fronts, now including the Supreme Court, set to hear oral argument on October 10 on a previous iteration of the ban. Will the new restrictions moot the Supreme Court case? How does the addition of new countries effect the constitutionality of the restrictions? These and other questions were addressed in our Teleforum.


Prof. Josh Blackman, Associate Professor of Law, South Texas College of Law, Houston