David A. Strauss

Prof. David A. Strauss

Gerald Ratner Distinguished Service Professor of Law, Faculty Director of the Jenner & Block Supreme Court and Appellate Clinic, University of Chicago Law School

David Strauss graduated from Harvard College summa cum laudein 1973. He then spent two years at Magdalen College, Oxford, on the Marshall Scholarship and received a BPhil in politics from Oxford in 1975. In 1978, he graduated magna cum laude from Harvard Law School, where he was developments editor of theLaw Review. Before joining the Law School faculty, he worked as an Attorney-Adviser in the Office of Legal Counsel of the US Department of Justice and was an Assistant to the Solicitor General of the United States.

Strauss joined the Law School faculty in 1985. He has published articles on a variety of subjects, principally in constitutional law and related areas, and recently published The Living Constitution (Oxford University Press, 2010). He is, with Geoffrey Stone and Dennis Hutchinson, editor of the Supreme Court Review. He has been a visiting professor at Harvard and Georgetown. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Strauss has argued nineteen cases before the United States Supreme Court. In 1990, he served as Special Counsel to the Committee on the Judiciary of the United States Senate. He is a member of the national Board of Directors of the American Constitution Society. He has also served Chair of the Board of Trustees of the University of Chicago Laboratory Schools and as a member of the Board of Governors of the Chicago Council of Lawyers. In addition to his current teaching interests - constitutional law, federal jurisdiction, elements of the law, and administrative law - he has taught civil procedure and torts.

2010 Annual Student Symposium
2005 National Lawyers Convention

2005 National Lawyers Convention


The Mayflower Hotel
Washington, DC 20036
Steven H. AdenRonald J. AllenThomas Y. AllmanAkhil Reed AmarJohn S. BakerRandy E. BarnettLillian R. BeVierRobert H. BorkSteven G. CalabresiRonald A. CassJesse H. ChoperAdam CiongoliEdith Brown ClementPaul D. ClementCharles J. CooperJohn CornynWalter E. DellingerFrank H. EasterbrookJames W. ElyJohn M. EnglerStephen GardnerMerrick B. GarlandNicole GarnettDouglas H. GinsburgDavid GoloveLino A. GragliaC. Boyden GrayJohn C. HarrisonJohn S. IrvingRandel K. JohnsonEdith H. JonesF. Scott KieffDouglas W. KmiecLarry KramerJohn LeoLeonard A. LeoCraig S. LernerRonald M. LevinStanley LiebowitzJohn LottSteven LubetStephen J. MarkmanKevin J. MartinMichael W. McConnellJohn O. McGinnisEdwin MeeseThomas W. MerrillDiarmuid F. O'ScannlainTheodore B. OlsonPriscilla OwenBarrington D. ParkerMichael Stokes PaulsenRoger PilonWilliam H. PryorA. Raymond RandolphMitt RomneyMarc RotenbergRonald D. RotundaKarl RoveRichard H. SanderVictor E. SchwartzDavid B. SentelleSuzanna SherryJerry E. SmithKenneth W. StarrCarol SteikerDavid A. StraussPeter L. StraussNadine StrossenCass SunsteinWilliam M. TreanorEugene VolokhFred von LohmannAmy WaxSeth P. WaxmanRichard WesleyDiane P. WoodChristopher A. WrayJohn C. Yoo
Constitution • Federalism • Philosophy • Supreme Court