Heather K. Gerken

Heather K. Gerken

Dean and Sol & Lillian Goldman Professor of Law, Yale Law School

Heather Gerken is the Dean and Sol & Lillian Goldman Professor of Law at Yale Law School. Dean Gerken is one of the country’s leading experts on constitutional law and election law. A founder of the “nationalist school” of federalism, her work focuses on federalism, diversity, and dissent.

Hailed as an “intellectual guru” in the New York Times, Gerken’s scholarship has been featured in The Atlantic, the Boston Globe, NPR, the New York Times, and Time. In 2017, Politico Magazine named Gerken one of The Politico 50, a list of idea makers in American politics. Her work on election reform has affected policy at a national level.

At Yale, she founded and runs the country’s most innovative clinic in local government law, the San Francisco Affirmative Litigation Project (SFALP). Professor Gerken is also a renowned teacher who has won awards at both Yale and Harvard. She was named one of the nation’s “twenty-six best law teachers” in a book published by the Harvard University Press.

A native of Massachusetts, Gerken graduated from Princeton University, where she received her A.B. degree, summa cum laude in 1991. A Darrow Scholar, she graduated from the University of Michigan Law School summa cum laude in 1994. Gerken currently serves as a trustee for Princeton University.

After law school, Dean Gerken clerked for Judge Stephen Reinhardt of the 9th Circuit and Justice David Souter of the United States Supreme Court. She then served as an appellate lawyer in Washington, D.C., before joining the Harvard Law School faculty in 2000. Gerken came to Yale in 2006 and became the inaugural J. Skelly Wright Professor of Law in 2008. She became dean of Yale Law School on July 1, 2017.

Gerken has published extensively. Her work has been featured in the Harvard Law Review, the Yale Law Journal, the Stanford Law Review as well as numerous popular publications. Her work has been the subject of four symposia, and she has served as a commentator for a number of major media outlets, including The New York TimesThe New Yorker, NPR, CNN, MSNBC, and NBC News. Dean Gerken served as a senior advisor to the Obama campaign in 2008 and 2012. In 2013, her proposal for creating a “Democracy Index” – a national ranking of election systems — was adopted by the Pew Charitable Trusts, which created the nation’s first Election Performance Index. She has been featured in the National Law Journal for balancing teaching and research, won a Green Bag award for legal writing, and has testified before the Senate three times. Gerken is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

2017 National Lawyers Convention

Administrative Agencies and the Regulatory State

The Mayflower Hotel
Washington, DC 20036
Speakers: Neil GorsuchDonald McGahnJefferson B. SessionsR. Alexander AcostaJonathan H. AdlerJohn S. BakerAditya BamzaiRachel BarkowSteven G. CalabresiDaniel A. CraneGregory DolinSusan E. DudleyJohn C. EastmanTheodore H. FrankDeborah A. GarzaHeather K. GerkenStephen GillersC. Boyden GrayMichael S. GrevePhilip A. HamburgerJohn C. HarrisonLisa HeinzerlingGail HeriotPeter KirsanowDonald J. KochanGary LawsonRoslyn LaytonVictoria A. LipnicJennifer L. MascottJohn O. McGinnisGillian E. MetzgerMichael B. MukaseyKen PaxtonRobert V. PercivalArti K. RaiNeomi RaoRonald D. RotundaHal S. ScottTheodore M. ShawRodney SmollaIlya SominRobert Greene SternePeter L. StraussJeffrey S. SuttonStuart S. TaylorGeorge J. TerwilligerKate Comerford ToddJonathan R. TurleyEugene VolokhPeter J. WallisonEdward WhelanKeith E. WhittingtonArthur E. WilmarthWilliam H. PryorDavid M. McIntoshF. Scott KieffDavid StrasDiane S. SykesRachel L. BrandNathan A. SalesDavid BarronA. Raymond RandolphG. Barry AndersonKevin C. NewsomJohn F. DuffyMichael W. McConnellR. Shep MelnickMichael P. VandenberghPaulette BrownBrendan Thomas CarrHeather ChildsNicholas GealeAdam GelbRobert HanniganAugust HanningJonathan S. KanterPaul Alan LevyLibby LockePhilip A. MiscimarraMark L. RienziMelissa Rogers
Topics: Federalism & Separation of Powers
Sponsors: Washington DC Lawyers ChapterDC Young Lawyers ChapterCapitol Hill ChapterAdministrative Law & Regulation Practice GroupCivil Rights Practice GroupCorporations, Securities & Antitrust Practice GroupCriminal Law & Procedure Practice GroupEnvironmental Law & Property Rights Practice GroupFederalism & Separation of Powers Practice GroupFinancial Services & E-Commerce Practice GroupFree Speech & Election Law Practice GroupIntellectual Property Practice GroupInternational & National Security Law Practice GroupLabor & Employment Law Practice GroupLitigation Practice GroupProfessional Responsibility & Legal Education Practice GroupReligious Liberties Practice GroupTelecommunications & Electronic Media Practice Group
2012 National Lawyers Convention

2012 National Lawyers Convention

The Mayflower Hotel 1127 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Washington, District of Columbia 20036
Speakers: Neal K. KatyalNelson LundMichael W. McConnellJohn O. McGinnisRobert T. MillerRonald D. RotundaJ. Harvie WilkinsonMichael S. LeeWilliam KuntzWilliam H. PryorDon WillettJohn A. AllisonAkhil Reed AmarJonathan D. BakerWalter E. DellingerRichard A. EpsteinPhilip A. HamburgerJeffrey S. JacobsonKenneth AndersonJulian KuDaniel M. GallagherHelen AlvareThomas M. HardimanJennifer Walker ElrodMelissa RogersMark PerryStephen F. WilliamsJames C. DunlopTimothy S. JostRobert M. McDowellJoanne MederoWilliam (Chip) MellorAlan B. MorrisonMichael B. MukaseyMartin J. NewhouseMaureen K. OhlhausenCraig SegallTheodore M. ShawNadine StrossenGeorge J. TerwilligerMark TushnetKenneth L. WainsteinJ WilkinsonISamuel A. AlitoPeter A. ThielAntonin ScaliaCarlos T. BeaFrank H. EasterbrookRandall R. RaderDiane S. SykesRandy E. BarnettMichael S. BarrDavid BarronPaul D. ClementDaniel A. CraneWalter DellingerIChristopher C. DeMuthJohn C. EastmanHeather K. GerkenC. Boyden GrayWilliam HarafGail HeriotDiarmuid F. O'ScannlainRobert G. NatelsonAdam MossoffJohn S. BakerBrett M. KavanaughEdith H. JonesH BartolomucciMargaret D. StockNeil GorsuchJohn R. KozaTara RossRonald A. CassHadley P. ArkesStanley Carlson-ThiesMichael UhlmannJorge ContrerasMerrick B. GarlandEdward L. RubinJerry E. SmithA. Raymond RandolphR CruzRick ScottDavid StrasWilliam P. MarshallJoel BurcatJames R. MayLee A. CaseyGregory S. McNealTimothy M. TymkovichAlex KozinskiThomas B. GriffithRobert R. GasawaySteven G. Calabresi
Sponsors: Washington DC Lawyers ChapterDC Young Lawyers ChapterCapitol Hill Chapter