Raymond W. Gruender

Hon. Raymond W. Gruender

U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

The Honorable Raymond W. Gruender was nominated by President George W. Bush to the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit on September 29, 2003, and confirmed by the Senate on May 20, 2004. He was sworn in on June 28, 2004. Between 2012 and 2014, he served on the Judicial Conference Committee on Criminal Law.

From May 2001 until May 2004, Judge Gruender served as the United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Missouri where he oversaw an office of sixty Assistant United States Attorneys (AUSAs) actively engaged in both civil and criminal matters. Between 2001 and 2002, he served on the Attorney General’s Advisory Committee. Prior to serving as the United States Attorney, Judge Gruender served as an AUSA between 1990 and 1994 and again between 2000 and 2001. As an AUSA, he specialized in prosecuting white-collar and public corruption matters.

In addition to his experience as a federal prosecutor, Judge Gruender spent nine years in private practice. Between 1987 and 1990, he was an associate with Lewis, Rice and Fingersh. Between 1994 and 2000, he was a partner with Thompson Coburn, LLP. He has represented both plaintiffs and defendants in a broad array of civil matters such as admiralty, antitrust, contracts, employment, securities, fraud, banking and various tort claims. His practice also included representing those accused of or under investigation for crimes, as well as victims and witnesses of crimes. Although his practice primarily was in federal courts, he also was active in state courts. He is a member of the Missouri and Illinois bars, the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis and the Federalist Society.

Judge Gruender graduated from St. Louis University High School in 1981. By 1987, he had obtained Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Master of Business Administration and Juris Doctorate degrees from Washington University in St. Louis. He served on the Washington University Law Quarterly and was a member of the Order of the Coif. In December 2003, he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Laws degree by William Woods University in Fulton, Missouri.

Judge Gruender also has been active in civic affairs. He served on the Board of Directors, including as board president, of A.L.I.V.E. (Alternatives to Living in Violent Environments), a not-for-profit organization dedicated to eliminating domestic violence and serving its victims. He currently serves on the Board of Directors of the St. Louis Variety Club, having received its 2003 “Have a Heart, Lend a Hand” volunteer award. He also has served as a director of the Shakespeare Festival of St. Louis. 

2015 National Lawyers Convention

2015 National Lawyers Convention

The Role of Congress

The Mayflower Hotel
Washington, DC 20036
Sandra AistarsAkhil Reed AmarJohn S. BakerCarlos T. BeaHoward L. BermanKeith BlackwellFrançois-Henri BriardSam BrownbackJames L. BuckleyMichael A. CarvinJames W. CeaserNeil ChatterjeeSalen ChuriEric R. ClaeysTom A. CoburnSteven CollotonEarl W. ComstockTom CottonJan CrawfordStephen CrimminsNathan DealChristopher C. DeMuthNeal E. DevinsColin DueckSteven J. DuffieldJohn F. DuffyFrank H. EasterbrookJohn C. EastmanW. Neil EgglestonRichard A. EpsteinMiguel EstradaLouis FisherBenjamin H. FriedmanRobert P. GeorgePhil GrammTodd P. GravesC. Boyden GrayMichael S. GreveThomas B. GriffithAndrew GrossmanRaymond W. GruenderOrrin HatchJeanne M. HauchTara HelfmanBrian H. HookMichael HunterEdith H. JonesEdward T. KangNeal K. KatyalBrett M. KavanaughF. Scott KieffStephen R. KleinAlex KozinskiWilliam KristolJoan LarsenAdam LaxaltRoslyn LaytonFrances E. LeeMichael S. LeeCraig S. LernerGordon LloydArthur LoevyTim LynchJohn G. MalcolmWilliam P. MarshallDavid MayhewJohn O. McGinnisFrank MedinaGillian E. MetzgerDavid B. MuhlhausenDiarmuid F. O'ScannlainDavid S. OlsonMichael Stokes PaulsenKaren Shaw PetrouTodd PettysRichard PildesBettina PoirierKirsten PowersScott PruittWilliam H. PryorRobert QuinnArti K. RaiA. Raymond RandolphNeomi RaoJohn N. RaudabaughPete RickettsDavid B. RivkinNicholas A. RobinsonMike J. RogersNicholas Quinn RosenkranzPaul RyanTuan SamahonBill SamuelWilliam L. SaundersMark SchneiderDavid S. SchoenbrodDavid B. SentelleDarpana ShethJerry E. SmithJames A. SonneDavid StrasGeorge J. TerwilligerMichael P. TremoglieJonathan R. TurleyMichael UhlmannJ.W. VerretJ.W. VerretEugene VolokhHans A. von SpakovskyScott WalkerMatthew Lee WienerGeorge F. WillRobert L. WoodsonRobert P. YoungPeter R. Zeidenberg
Federalism & Separation of Powers