Stephen J. Markman

Hon. Stephen J. Markman

Chief Justice, Michigan Supreme Court

Stephen Markman was chosen by the Court to serve as its Chief Justice on January 6, 2017. Before his appointment to the Supreme Court in 1999, he served as Judge on the Michigan Court of Appeals from 1995-1999. Prior to this, he practiced law with the firm of Miller, Canfield, Paddock & Stone in Detroit. 

From 1989-93, Justice Markman served as United States Attorney, or federal prosecutor, in Michigan, after having been nominated by President George H. W. Bush and confirmed by the United States Senate. From 1985-1989, he served as Assistant Attorney General of the United States, after having been nominated by President Ronald Reagan and confirmed by the United States Senate. In that position, he headed the Department of Justice’s Office of Legal Policy, which served as the principal policy development office within the Department, and which coordinated the federal judicial selection process. Prior to this, he served for seven years as Chief Counsel of the United States Senate Subcommittee on the Constitution, and as Deputy Chief Counsel of the United States Senate Judiciary Committee.

Justice Markman has authored articles for such publications as the University of Michigan Journal of Law Reform, the Detroit College of Law Review, the Stanford Law Review, the University of Chicago Law Review, the American Criminal Justice Law Review, the Barrister's Law Journal, the Harvard Journal of Law & Public Policy, and the American University Law Review. He has also served as a contributing editor of National Review magazine, and has authored chapters in such books as “In the Name of Justice: The Aims of the Criminal Law,” “Still the Law of the Land,” and “Originalism: A Quarter Century of Debate.” 

Justice Markman has taught constitutional law at Hillsdale College since 1993. He also serves on the Board of Directors of the Western Michigan University Thomas M. Cooley Law School. He has traveled to Ukraine on two occasions on behalf of the State Department, to provide assistance in the development of that nation's post-Soviet constitution. He is a Fellow of the Michigan Bar Foundation, a Master of the Bench of the Inns of Court, and a member of the One Hundred Club. He has spoken before hundreds of youth, civic, charitable, and legal groups throughout Michigan and nationally, and has coached Little League baseball and basketball. He lives with his wife Mary Kathleen in Mason, and has two sons, James and Charles. 

Justice Markman was re-elected to the Supreme Court in 2000, 2004, and 2012. His present term expires January 1, 2021.

Inaugural Wisconsin Lawyers Chapters Conference

Wisconsin Lawyers Chapters

Monona Terrace
Madison, WI 53703
Federal Courts • Federalism • First Amendment • Religious Liberty • Separation of Powers • State Courts • Free Speech & Election Law • Religious Liberties
2017 Annual Western Chapters Conference
2016 National Lawyers Convention

2016 National Lawyers Convention

The Jurisprudence and Legacy of Justice Scalia

The Mayflower Hotel
Washington, DC 20036
Floyd AbramsSamuel A. AlitoJohn A. AllisonAkhil Reed AmarJohn S. BakerRachel BarkowCarlos T. BeaStephanos BibasSusan G. BradenMark BrnovichRonald A. CassLeonard N. ChaninBradford R. ClarkPaul D. ClementSteven CollotonTed CruzRon DeSantisFrank H. EasterbrookJohn C. EastmanAllison EidE ElliottJennifer Walker ElrodJames W. ElyRichard A. EpsteinWilliam N. EskridgeBrian T. FitzpatrickMark FloydDavid F. ForteNoel J. FranciscoRichard W. GarnettDeborah A. GarzaDouglas H. GinsburgAbbe R. GluckElizabeth GoiteinHenry GoldbergPhil GrammDeepak GuptaNikki HaleyThomas M. HardimanSeth HarrisJohn C. HarrisonLisa HeinzerlingArthur D. HellmanC HemphillRoderick M. HillsSandra Segal IkutaRandel K. JohnsonEdith H. JonesDavid J. KapposOrin S. KerrRaymond KethledgeAdam KleinWilliam KuntzPaul LarkinJoan LarsenGary LawsonAdam LaxaltNelson LundStephen J. MarkmanWilliam P. MarshallToni MassaroMichael W. McConnellThomas W. MerrillPatrick MorriseyAdam MossoffVincent Phillip MunozVictoria NourseDiarmuid F. O'ScannlainMichael O'SheaPatrick A. ParenteauMichael Stokes PaulsenMark Sheldon PerryRoger PilonSaikrishna B. PrakashWilliam H. PryorDeborah L. RhodeNicholas Quinn RosenkranzAllan RostronBill SamuelJoshua SarnoffBen SasseEugene ScaliaKannon K. ShanmugamJerry E. SmithLawrence SolumIlya SominLuther StrangeDavid R. StrasKimberley A. StrasselNadine StrossenJeffrey S. SuttonDiane S. SykesClarence ThomasJonathan R. TurleyMichael UhlmannStephen I. VladeckEugene VolokhRichard E. WileyDon WillettTodd Zywicki
Federalism & Separation of Powers